Guido de Neve ENG | AP School Of Arts Skip to main content
  • Home
  • Person
  • Guido de Neve

Guido de Neve

Guido de Neve proved to be gifted with an exceptional musical talent at a very young age. Already at the age of eleven, he was accepted as a student at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels in the class of Kati Sebestyen and later in the class of Augustin Léon-Ara.  At 17, he graduated with the highest distinction and special congratulations from the jury. That same summer in Assisi he met the Hungarian violinist Sandor Végh. This acquaintance would profoundly influence his further development.

Six years of intensive self-study followed, a period during which Guido de Neve developed a personal way of interpreting. This effort would be rewarded at home and abroad. Not only the British press was enthusiastic. The Braunschweiger Zeitung too saw "...zweifelsohne ein aufgehender Stern am Geigenhimmel...", and De Morgen recognized in the young virtuoso "...the new torchbearer of the Belgian violin school...". De Bériot, Vieuxtemps, Ysaÿe, Grumiaux flashed through my mind," wrote Fred Brouwers.

After many years of intensive music making in Europe, South America, Asia and Africa, he took a two-year artistic sabbatical. A period of reflection, review and rediscovery. This search brought him first to the baroque violin and then to the romantic violin. A new world of sounds and musical languages opened up...

Since then, Guido de Neve performs on baroque, romantic and modern violin. He does this in duets with piano, pianoforte and harpsichord.  But also in solo violin recitals, in which he interprets the entire history of violin literature on appropriate instruments. In this spirit, he founded the Quatuor Romantique in 2019. A string quartet that uses romantic instruments to perform the great string quartet literature from the late Mozart quartets to the first half of the 20th century.

But Guido de Neve is not only a passionate musician. For more than 25 years he has been teaching at the Antwerp Conservatory and has become the musical father of a whole new generation of concert violinists…

> The YouTube channel of Guido de Neve

Subjects: Section chairperson Violin, Violin, Chamber music,